Alright School, When the Heck do I Read?

Photo CC – By Christian Schnettelker

This semester has already been crazy busy for me. Crazy busy. I cannot believe the amount of time I’ve been spending doing homework. I’m taking 6 classes, two which are junior level classes. (I’m a sophomore.) But it still seems like that shouldn’t be too much of a problem. However, all I seem to be doing outside of going to classes is homework. Just hours of sitting on my computer doing homework. (At least I’ve been getting though a lot of playlists on 8tracks!)

I’ve actually been really excited to read more books because of this class. I’ve always loved reading, but all I’ve been reading the past few years is online books and graphic novels. It just hasn’t been happening recently though. I think what I need to do is actually schedule my reading time, just like it’s homework. I downloaded a planner for my computer and have scheduled some time segments to read. I’m really hoping this planner will help me out. I also have this weekend to read, which is nice for a change. Last weekend I went back to Rapid to work. No reading for me then.

When I have read, I did it in big chunks of time. Like when I read for our first, “It’s Monday, What are you Reading?” post, I went to the library, sat down, and read about 17 children’s book straight. Later I read the rest of the books I had while sitting on my couch at my apartment. This seems to work the best for me, but I would also like to read during “edge time”. I would like to start reading before bed, (which I’ve always done before, except it was stories on my phone) and the short times I have in-between classes. Hopefully this works out for me! I really think planning my reading times instead of just trying to find the time will help.

Anyone have any tips or things that worked well in particular for them?

12 thoughts on “Alright School, When the Heck do I Read?

  1. I love that you talk about physically scheduling time to read. I’d really like to be able to do that but life just gets in the way and I feel like I don’t have much of a schedule. I agree about school taking up significant amounts of time. I feel like that is all I am ever doing. Personally edge time doesn’t really work for me because I can’t ever concentrate when I am about to do something else. I also read in large chunks of time. When I get in a reading mode it takes a lot to stop.

    Like

  2. Finding time to read when you have a really full schedule can definitely be a challenge! I think that you are right on track in actually “scheduling” time to read–treat it like it is homework (because it is) and that will make it more of a priority for you..at least, it might? 🙂

    I have found that physically carry a book/kindle with me can also really help. Anytime I have down time, I pull that out, instead of pulling out my smartphone and surfing mindlessly. There is a lot more time to read when I do this!

    Like

    1. It’s been working for me lately! I’ve been scheduling 1 hour of reading and 1 hours of practicing Japanese everyday. This way if I miss it one day, I’m still getting plenty in.
      I will have to start remembering to grab a book before I head out!

      Like

  3. I feel your pain! I don’t know why I can only get about 1/3 of what I think I can get done in a certain amount of time!
    I love, love, LOVE your idea of physically scheduling reading time. “They” say that if you want to do something, schedule it and DON’T skip out on yourself.
    You will have to know how it goes. If YOU have tips for us, please share them. We are all busy bees.

    Like

    1. Yes! I always sit down and say, “Alright, I’m going to get so much done! And I’m not going to get distracted at all!” Doesn’t work sometimes…
      Scheduling has been working out for me recently! What I’ve been doing is scheduling 1 hour of reading everyday. This way if I miss it one day, I’m still getting plenty in.

      Like

  4. Busy, indeed! It sounds like you’re managing the best you can. You will definitely be thankful you made time to read. I have already read so many books I will use in the classroom. This gives us the perfect opportunity to do that. What book have you been impressed with the most so far?

    Like

    1. Yes, I love being able to sit down and know that I can just read for the next hour with no interruptions.
      Definitely “One Cool Friend” by Toni Buzzeo! It’s so cute and it has a penguin. I can’t resist anything with penguins.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have had to physically schedule time for reading too. Monday mornings, I read for 1-2 hours, and Fridays, I read for 2 hours in the afternoon. Otherwise, it just doesn’t happen. I love the idea of edge time, but I tend to check social media instead. SIGH.

    Like

    1. I’ve been scheduling an hour everyday and that way even if I miss it one day, I’m still getting plenty in. (And don’t mind reading a little extra!)
      Agreed, the notification sound on my iPhone will be the death of me!

      Like

Leave a comment